WORKSHOPS and class - June 24 to August 10 - France info

AUDITIONS
PRO TRAINING - infos

REGISTRATIONS 2024-2025 -
infos
CONTACT

The school

What makes our school unique

PMDS was founded in 2012 by Maggie Boogaart, former international soloist and choreographer, and Ghislain de Compreignac, former soloist classical ballet.

PMDS brings together the teaching of dance classical ballet and contemporary dance and gives them equal value.

class amateurs and a pre-professional training school

The school welcomes amateur children, teenagers and adults, as well as young pre-professionals aged 9 to 21. The same teachers teach both amateurs and pre-professionals, in separate class rooms, guaranteeing amateurs top-quality teaching and detailed explanations that enable them to make real progress.

Our techniques are up-to-date and prepare you to dance with ease and fluidity.

The Balanchine technique brings a significant update to the classical ballet technique, with speed and brilliance. Graham technique is a fundamental foundation for contemporary dance, which we complement for amateurs with release technique and for pre-professionals with Limon and Cunningham techniques.

‍Le Junior Ballet

Junior Ballet is open to students in their 2nd year of the Cycle Supérieur. Some students are allowed to remain in the Cycle Supérieur for a 3rd year, to perfect their stage experience.  

On average, dancers perform once a month on stage in a theater. They explore the repertoire of the best choreographers, and in particular those of the companies they wish to join.

Passion, pleasure, sharing the art of dance!

For all of our class classes, regardless of the participant's level or objective, the passion and pleasure of dancing are the priority. Even if you come as an amateur once a week to our class open to all, you will experience the pleasure of dancing, progressing and developing your self-confidence.

Principals and head teachers

Founders and directors : Maggie Boogaart and Ghislain de Compreignac
International sponsor: Fernando Montano, former soloist with the Royal Ballet (UK)

It was in 2012 at the request of pre-professional students looking for training to prepare for auditions in dance companies that Maggie Boogaart and Ghislain de Compreignac organized a pre-professional teaching curriculum. They then created class for younger pre-professionals, starting at the age of 9.

Their passion is to pass on their art to young talents who will make the posters of tomorrow. Boogaart and Compreignac are respectively recognized by the Martha Graham School in New York and the Balanchine School of American Ballet in New York.

Maggie Boogaart

Maggie Boogaart has made a career as an international soloist in contemporary dance. Trained at the CODARTS Conservatory in the Netherlands, then graduated from the London Contemporary Dance School in London and the Martha Graham School in New York, she danced for numerous companies in New York, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. She founded her own company and was its choreographer and director for 16 years, while teaching for 12 years at the main conservatories in the Netherlands. Since 2010, she has settled in France where she obtained a double exemption of the State Diploma of Contemporary Dance Teacher for her reputation and experience. Boogaart continues her creations as an independent choreographer.

Ghislain de Compreignac

Ghislain de Compreignac made a career as a soloist with Ballet du Nord (repertoire Balanchine, directed by Alfonso Cata, ex-assistant to George Balanchine at New York City Ballet); he also collaborated with Maurice Béjart (creation of a pas de deux), and danced with Ballet Royal de Wallonie and several of France's leading companies, Ballet du Rhin, Ballet-Théâtre Français de Nancy, Ballet-Théâtre Joseph Russillo. After graduating in economics and political science and art history, he pursued a career in business, notably in the publishing, internet and consulting sectors. He holds the Diplôme d'Etat de professeur de danse classical ballet. He teaches master classes and sits on juries for international competitions.

Our vision: excellence, artistry, creativity

For pre-professionals
in an international atmosphere, with a very personalized approach

Excellence

To train dancers of national and international level

The clear objective of the professional training is to train young dancers to succeed in auditions in France and internationally. To achieve this, different aspects are developed:
- a limited number of students, limited to 21 in all, to give daily individual attention to the students;
- the search for perfection and technical performance, always given to the artistic expression;
- the development of human qualities, communication, good professional practices;
- the knowledge of the artistic universe and companies at the world level.

Cross-training: classical ballet and contemporary-Graham

The teaching is based on the two great basic techniques: classical ballet and Graham (the basis of contemporary dance). The combination of these two complementary techniques gives today's dancers the richest technique to approach an international career with the great current choreographers. It allows to acquire a brilliant style, to increase one's virtuosity, creativity and experience on stage. In classical ballet, the technique taught is enriched by the knowledge of the Balanchine technique and the new scientific knowledge linked to intensive training.
Regular teaching includes flow/release/contact techniques and improvisation in contemporary dance.
Guest teachers, coming from different horizons, regularly bring other styles, techniques, and ways of working which enrich the students and improve their open-mindedness and capacity to adapt.


Artistry

Artistic sense and interpretation

Technique without art is a dead letter. The artistic development of each student is paramount. It requires a perfect understanding of the many artistic subtleties of dance classical ballet and is accomplished through the interpretation of repertoire classical ballet , neo-classical ballet and contemporary work and creation.
The program allows you to:
- benefit from the experience and the technical and artistic reflection of teachers recognized for their artistic requirements, precision, virtuosity, speed and creativity
- discover the benefits of the combination of the great techniques (Russian, Balanchine, Graham)
- discover the repertoires of Martha Graham and George Balanchine and the great choreographers of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.

Creativity

The program teaches:
- choreographic composition
- improvisation
- music and choreographic analysis,
to prepare dancers to collaborate creatively with choreographers and to produce their own works.

The
Teachers

Residents

Guests

Where

Find us?

Paris Marais Dance School

26 boulevard de Sébastopol
75004 Paris, France

Parking lots:

Sébastopol (opposite)
Centre Pompidou
Hôtel de Ville
Mairie 4e

Metro :

Châtelet (lines 1, 4, 7, 11, 14)
Hôtel de Ville (line 1)
Rambuteau (line 11)

RER: A, B, D

BUS: 38 (just in front)

SPECTACLE 28/4 - CONTACT

L'école

Ce qui rend notre école unique

PMDS a été fondée en 2012 par Maggie Boogaart, ex-soliste internationale et chorégraphe, et par Ghislain de Compreignac, ex-soliste classique.

PMDS réunit l'enseignement de la danse classique et de la danse contemporaine et leur accorde la même valeur.

Des cours amateurs et une école de formation préprofessionnelle

L'école reçoit les amateurs enfants, adolescents et adultes ainsi que de jeunes préprofessionnels de 9 ans à 21 ans. Les mêmes professeurs enseignent aux amateurs et aux préprofessionnels, dans des cours séparés, ce qui garantit aux amateurs un enseignement haut de gamme et des explications détaillées qui leur permettent de vraiment progresser.

Nos techniques sont actualisées et préparent à danser avec aisance et fluidité.

La technique Balanchine apporte une mise à jour significative à la technique classique, avec la rapidité et la brillance. La technique Graham est une base fondamentale pour la danse contemporaine, que nous complétons pour les amateurs avec la technique release et pour les préprofessionnels avec les techniques Limon et Cunningham.

‍Le Junior Ballet

Le Junior Ballet est accessible à partir de la 2e année du Cycle supérieur. Certains élèves sont admis à rester une 3e année dans le Cycle Supérieur pour parfaire leur expérience scénique.  

Les danseurs et danseuses se produisent en moyenne une fois par mois sur scène dans un théâtre. Ils explorent le répertoire des meilleurs chorégraphes et notamment celui des compagnies qu'ils souhaitent rejoindre.

Passion, plaisir, partager l’art de la danse !

Pour la totalité de nos cours, quel que soit le niveau ou l’objectif du participant, la passion et le plaisir de danser sont prioritaires. Même si vous venez en tant qu’amateur une fois par semaine dans nos cours ouverts à tous, vous éprouverez le plaisir de danser, de progresser et de développer votre confiance en vous.

Directeurs et professeurs principaux

Fondateurs et directeurs : Maggie Boogaart et Ghislain de Compreignac
Parrain international : Fernando Montano, ex-soliste du Royal Ballet (UK)

C’est en 2012 à la demande des étudiants préprofessionnels en recherche d’une formation pour la préparation aux auditions dans les compagnies de danse que Maggie Boogaart et Ghislain de Compreignac ont organisé un cursus d’enseignement préprofessionnel. Ils ont ensuite créé des cours pour des préprofessionnels plus jeunes, à partir de l'âge de 9 ans.

Leur passion est de transmettre leur art à de jeunes talents qui feront les affiches de demain.  Boogaart et Compreignac sont respectivement reconnus par l’école Martha Graham de New York et la School of American Ballet de Balanchine à New York.

Maggie Boogaart

Maggie Boogaart a fait une carrière de danseuse soliste internationale en danse contemporaine. Formée au Conservatoire CODARTS au Pays-Bas, puis diplômée de London Contemporary Dance School à Londres et de la Martha Graham School à New York, elle a dansé pour de nombreuses compagnies à New York, en Allemagne, en Espagne et au Pays-Bas. Elle a créé sa propre compagnie dont elle a été chorégraphe et directrice pendant 16 ans et parallèlement a enseigné pendant 12 ans dans les principaux conservatoires des Pays-Bas. Depuis 2010, elle s’est établie en France où elle a obtenu une double dispense du Diplôme d’Etat de professeur de danse contemporaine pour sa renommée et son expérience. Boogaart continue ses créations comme chorégraphe indépendante.

Ghislain de Compreignac

Ghislain de Compreignac a fait une carrière de danseur comme soliste au Ballet du Nord (répertoire Balanchine, direction Alfonso Cata, ex-assistant de George Balanchine au New York City Ballet) ; il a également collaboré avec Maurice Béjart (création d’un pas de deux), et dansé avec le Ballet Royal de Wallonie et plusieurs des principales compagnies françaises, Ballet du Rhin, Ballet-Théâtre Français de Nancy, Ballet-Théâtre Joseph Russillo. Diplômé en sciences économiques et politiques et en histoire de l’art, il a ensuite fait une carrière en entreprise, notamment dans les secteurs de l’édition, de l’internet et du conseil. Il est titulaire du Diplôme d’Etat de professeur de danse classique. Il enseigne des master classes et participe à des jurys de concours internationaux.

Notre vision : excellence, art, créativité

Pour les préprofessionnels
dans une ambiance internationale, avec une approche très personnalisée

Excellence

Former des danseurs de niveau national et international

L’objectif clair de la formation professionnelle est de former de jeunes danseurs et danseuses pour leur faire réussir des auditions en France et à l’international. Pour cela, différents aspects sont développés :
– un nombre restreint d’étudiants, limité à 21 en tout, pour accorder une attention individuelle quotidienne aux élèves;
– la recherche de la perfection et de la performance technique, toujours accordée à l’expression artistique
– le développement des qualités humaines, de communication, des bonnes pratiques professionnelles;
– la connaissance de l’univers artistique et des compagnies au niveau mondial.

Cross-training : Classique et contemporain-Graham

L’enseignement s’appuie sur les deux grandes techniques de base : Classique et Graham (base de la danse contemporaine). La combinaison de ces deux techniques complémentaires donne aux danseurs d’aujourd’hui la technique la plus riche pour aborder une carrière internationale avec les grands chorégraphes actuels. Il permet d’acquérir un style brillant, d’augmenter sa virtuosité, créativité, expérience sur scène. En classique, la technique enseignée est enrichie des acquis de la technique Balanchine et des nouvelles connaissances scientifiques liées à l’entraînement intensif.
L’enseignement régulier inclut les techniques flow/release/contact, l’improvisation en contemporain.
Des professeurs invités, venant d’horizons différents, apportent régulièrement d’autres styles, techniques, façons de travailler qui viennent enrichir les élèves et améliorer leur ouverture d’esprit et capacité d’adaptation.


Art

Sens artistique et interprétation

La technique sans l’art reste lettre morte. Le développement artistique de chaque étudiant est primordial. Il passe par la compréhension parfaite des nombreuses subtilités artistiques de la danse classique et s’accomplit dans le travail d’interprétation du répertoire classique, néo-classique et contemporain et le travail de création.
Le programme permet de :
• bénéficier de l’expérience et de la réflexion technique et artistique de professeurs reconnus pour leur exigence artistique, de précision, virtuosité, rapidité et créativité
• découvrir les bénéfices de la combinaison des grandes techniques (russe, Balanchine, Graham)
• découvrir les répertoires de Martha Graham et George Balanchine et des grands chorégraphes des 19e, 20e et 21e siècles.

Créativité

Le programme permet d’apprendre :
• la composition chorégraphique
• l’improvisation
• l’analyse musicale et chorégraphique,
pour préparer les danseurs à collaborer de façon créative avec des chorégraphes et à réaliser leurs propres créations.

Les
Professeurs

Résidents

Invités

Nous trouver ?

Paris Marais Dance School

26 boulevard de Sébastopol
75004 Paris, France

Parkings :

Sébastopol (en face)
Centre Pompidou
Hôtel de Ville
Mairie 4e

Métro :

Châtelet (lignes 1, 4, 7, 11, 14)
Hôtel de Ville (ligne 1)
Rambuteau (ligne 11)

RER : A, B, D

BUS : 38 (juste devant)